The Latest from American Women Artists

Carrie Waller Abundance

AWA members and non-members can apply for scholarships for AWA Workshops at the Scottsdale Artists School. These scholarships have been generously donated by Friends of Western Art, in support of our programming. Deadline to apply has been extended to September 25.

AWA Workshops at Scottsdale Artists School – November 2015
Scholarship Application

American Women Artists is pleased to offer ten $100 scholarships for payment or partial payment toward workshops taught by AWA Signature and Master Signature members at the Scottsdale Artists School, in conjunction with the AWA 2015 National Juried Competition Exhibition & Annual Master & Signature Member Show in Scottsdale, AZ.

The workshops will be held from Monday, Nov. 9 through Wednesday, Nov. 11. The AWA scholarships are generously donated by Friends of Western Art.

Applications for these scholarships are made available to artists 18 years of age or older, living and working in the United States, Canada or Mexico. Applicants are not required to be members of American Women Artists, but are welcome and encouraged to join. American Women Artists is open to women artists living in the U.S., Canada, or Mexico who draw, paint, or sculpt in a representational style – either with a contemporary or a traditional approach. 

If awarded, scholarship payment is made directly to applicant as reimbursement for workshop registration payment.

Criteria to submit for a Scholarship:

1 – Potential recipients need to be registered at one or more of the workshops being held and list the workshop(s) on their submission.

2 – Applicants must submit a 300-word (or less) statement on “Why, as an artist, should I be awarded this scholarship?” Statement should be submitted as an attached pdf to emailed submission.

3 – Two digital images of applicants’ work should be included (jpeg, 1500 pixels max in the longest direction, saved in RGB format, 300dpi with filenames in alphanumeric characters with no symbols).

4 – Submissions are to be sent by e-mail to by September 25, 2015.

Scholarship winners will be notified by September 30, 2015.